Tuesday, October 27, 2009

Means of Priestly Holiness

Pope Pius XII, in his Apostolic Exhortation, Menti Nostrae (1950), pointed out nine chief means (in addition to Holy Mass) to priestly holiness:

1. Divine Office

2. Daily Meditation

3. Vocal Prayer

4. The Rosary

5. Daily Visit to the Blessed Sacrament

6. Daily Examination of Conscience

7. Frequent Confession

8. Spiritual Direction

9. Spiritual Retreats


Archdiocesan Prayer for Priests

God our Father, look with mercy and love
   upon those your Son has chosen
   to be ministers of your Word and Sacraments,
  and ardent but gentle shepherds of your flock.
As spiritual fathers of those entrusted to their care,
   keep them faithful in obedient service to you.
Enkindle in our priests the fire of your love,
   so that they will seek nothing but your greater glory
   and the salvation of souls.
We pray that Mary, Queen of the Holy Rosary,
   will wrap her mantle around our priests,
   draw them closer to your heart day by day
   and inspire many young men to answer your call.
We ask this through Christ Our Lord.  Amen.

St. John Vianney, pray for us.